Research Guides: A Guide for Urban Doctoral Students: Articles/Research Databases

Michael Schwartz Library

Connecting to the Full Text of an Article

-Many articles are available full text online in HTML or PDF format inside the research databases.

-If not, then select the yellow Find It! button or the Full Text Finder(s) link to determine the availability of a specific article when searching the databases. You may be able to connect to the full text of the article in another database. Just follow the links!

-If the article is NOT available in the database or by selecting the other links, then check Journals at CSU. Use Journals at CSU to determine if the Library provides full text access (either online or in print) to the TITLES of specific journals, magazines, and newspapers.

-Search for the article title in Google Scholar.

-If the article is not available in any of the sources mentioned above, then request it through Interlibrary Loan.

RESEARCH DATABASES

Articles are published in periodicals -- JOURNALS, MAGAZINES, and NEWSPAPERS. To find articles on a topic, search the Michael Schwartz Library's Research Databases.

The databases are listed in Alphabetical Order by Title and grouped by Subject Category on the Library's website. The Library also provides access to several Newspaper Research Databases.

Below are some databases to get you started -- this is not an exhaustive list!

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
History and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text covering scholarly business journals, business and industry news on management, economics, marketing, finance, accounting, international business and much more.
Electronic Journal Center This link opens in a new window
A full text database of journal articles covering a wide range of subjects. Includes review articles.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text database for environmental studies
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in various disciplines of the humanities and social sciences.
International Political Science Abstracts (1989-) This link opens in a new window
Includes current indexing and abstracts of the world's leading journals in political science from 1989 to present.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to hundreds of full-text journals with strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling.
Public Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to public administration, including public administration research, public administration theory, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983—nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of scholarly literature in sociology and the social sciences.
Sociological Collection (1965-) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database with coverage of more than 500 full text journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles. Sociological Collection offers information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure. Updated daily.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Citation index of peer-reviewed journals published worldwide in science, social sciences, and humanities disciplines. Conference proceedings and book data are also available.