Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to CSU Home
Link to CSU Home
Students in the Library

Michael Schwartz Library

216.687.2478
Students in the Connection Lounge
Michael Schwartz Library

COM 201: Articles

Library PIN

Off-campus access to research databases is restricted to current CSU faculty, staff, and students.

To access research databases from off-campus, you will have to authenticate first -- select Cleveland State University, and then enter your name, CSU ID, and Library PIN. If you don't have a Library PIN yet, then you can create one on the My Account page.

Interlibrary Loan

Use Interlibrary Loan Services to get articles, books, dissertations, and other materials you need that are not available from the Michael Schwartz Library or from OhioLINK.

OneSearch

OneSearch

   

OneSearch connects with most of the library's research databases, allowing you to search them all at once.

Searching for cultural concepts

You can use similar strategies for creating your searches to locate scholarly articles that focus on particular cultural concepts as you did for books. However, you also have the added benefit of being able to search the full text of many articles, not just the title, subject term, and abstract. 

By default, OneSearch searches the full text of articles where it is able to, as opposed to other databases which do not do this by default. 

 

Communication Research Databases

Additional Research Databases

Accessing Journals and Newspapers

At the Library's homepage (http://library.csuohio.edu/), near the top is a tab 'Journals'.  Type the title of the journal or newspaper.  The next screen will show what databases contain the journal or newspaper.  Then you may click on the appropriate database.