Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to CSU Home
Link to CSU Home
Students in the Library

Michael Schwartz Library

216.687.2478
Students in the Connection Lounge
Michael Schwartz Library

ASC 101 (STEM) - Common Reading Research Guide 2015-2016: Hidden America: Articles

A guide for Dr. Jenkins' and Dr. Margolius' class.

Why Use Articles?

Articles provide:

  • Breaking news
  • Current, up-to-date information
  • Narrow focus on one aspect of a topic
  • Original research
  • Bibliography of additional sources

Off-Campus Access

When you want to use the research databases or electronic book collections from an off-campus location, you will be asked to: 

  1. Select your school/institution
  2. Enter your name
  3. Enter your CSU student number
  4. Enter your Library PIN

Google Scholar

Before purchasing an article you find on the Internet, check with a librarian to see if the library has access to it at no extra charge. 

Google Scholar Search

What is a Research Database?

computer keyboardResearch databases are the online tools you should use to search for articles on your topic. These databases include information about articles that have been published in journals, magazines, and newspapers.

Some research databases even provide access to book reviews, film reviews, dramas, financial reports, and many other sources of information. Research Database are even starting to add book chapters

Many of the articles listed in the databases are available in full-text format. Full-text means the entire text of the article is available online. You can read, print, or email the article directly from the computer.

From Ohio Dominican University

Find Articles with OneSearch

There are many ways to search for articles using OneSearch. Here is one way.

  1. Enter your keywords into the search box
  2. To the left of the result list, you may use the check box under "Format" to limit to articles only.  You can select Academic Journals, Magazines, or News in any combination that meets your needs.
  3. You are also able to limit to "Scholarly - Peer Reviewed" articles. Just check the box!

What does "peer reviewed" mean? Check out the Scholarly Sources tab to find out.

 

         Article search using OneSearch               

 

 

 

Find Articles Using a Research Database