Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to CSU Home
Link to CSU Home
Students in the Library

Michael Schwartz Library

216.687.2478
Students in the Connection Lounge
Michael Schwartz Library

THE 211: History of the Theatre I

Survey of dramatic and theatrical developments from their ritual beginning through the theaters of the Greek, Roman, Medieval, and Italian and Spanish Renaissance, French Neoclassic and Elizabethan periods

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Mandi Goodsett
she/her
Contact:
216-802-3362

Library PIN

To access research databases from off-campus, you will have to authenticate first -- select Cleveland State University, and then enter your name, CSU ID, and Library PIN. If you don't have a Library PIN yet, then you can create one on the My Account page.

DOAJ

Search DOAJ

The Directory of Open Access Journals provides free access to full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages.

Core Research Databases

Additional Databases

  • Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
    • Access provided by Michael Schwartz Library on campus or by proxy
    Contains biographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present, along with thousands of images.
  • Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
    • Access provided by Michael Schwartz Library on campus or by proxy
    • Video/Media
    Access streaming videos via Films on Demand. Users may access videos directly, as well as create personal accounts to save favorites and create play lists.
  • Gender Studies Database (1972-) This link opens in a new window
    • Access provided by Michael Schwartz Library on campus or by proxy
    Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
  • Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
    • Access provided by Michael Schwartz Library on campus or by proxy
    Index and abstracts to articles covering world history from 1450 to present (excluding U.S. and Canada), including military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Provides indexing of more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
  • Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
    • Access provided by Michael Schwartz Library on campus or by proxy
    A comprehensive database of humanities content, providing full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world and including all data from American Humanities Index and Humanities International Index.
  • MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
    • Access provided by Michael Schwartz Library on campus or by proxy
    Index to articles, books, and dissertations on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
  • Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
    • Access provided by Michael Schwartz Library on campus or by proxy
    Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Coverage includes more than 871,000 records and spans from 1972 and earlier to present. This database supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented.