Skip to Main Content

Link to CSU Home

Link to CSU Home

Students in the Library

Michael Schwartz Library

216.687.2478

Students in the Connection Lounge

Michael Schwartz Library

THE 216: African American Theatre

A guide for THE 216 students as they explore resources about African-American theatre.

Theatre History

American Society for Theatre Research
CESAR (Electronic Collection of French Theatre Resources)
In French & English
Didaskalia
Online Journal for Ancient Performance

Costume and Dress

Angel of Fashion
Costume Page
Collection of costume-related links
English Actors at the Turn of the 20th Century
History of Costume
Ebook by Braun & Schneider - c.1861-1880
Milieux Costume Site

African American Theatre Links

Reference Sources & Web Directories

The Concise Oxford Companion to the Theatre
INTER-PLAY
An online index to plays in collections, anthologies & periodicals
Dictionary of Opera Characters
Oxford University Press
Applied and Interactive Theatre Guide
A Brief Guide to Theatre & Performing Arts Internet Resources
Stetson University
Literary Resources - Theatre and Drama
Rutgers University, Newark
Playbill
News, listings, features, industry, multimedia, reference, celebrities, shopping
Voice of the Shuttle: Drama, Theatre, & Performance Art Studies
UC Santa Barbara

Full Text of Plays

English & American Literature
Libraries Connect Ohio
EServer Drama Collection
Includes public domain plays as well as recent plays submitted to the site by playwrights.

International Resources

Macnas
Ireland's leading community arts and theatre company
Theatrales
Collection of resources and full text links to plays (in French)
UK Theatre Web