Research Guides: MUS 310: The Business of Music: Articles

Michael Schwartz Library

Core Music and Business Research Databases

To find resources about the music industry, you may need to search in both music databases and business resources. Some of the core databases for both are listed below.

Music Index (1979-) This link opens in a new window
Music Index is a comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature featuring digitized content from 1970 to present. This database contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 480 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 200 periodicals.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Type your topic in the keyword boxes. Click on the box next to 'Also search within the full text of the articles'. Click on Search.
On the left under Source Types, click Show More to limit to sources like trade publications, company reports, and SWOT analyses.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Type "music" into the search box. Next to Industry Reports choose More Results. Choose the industry report that most closely matches your research topic for a snapshot of the industry, industry performance data, products & markets, and more.

Musical America
News, reports, and other relevant sources about music industry groups and organizations.

Additional Research Databases

Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Complete™ provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The IBDT is the definitive research tool for the study of theatre and the performing arts. It contains more than 530 full-text titles, including more than 170 full-text journals.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
General research: Type keywords in 'Academic Search' box or select Search by Content and choose Dossiers under Companies.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Contains full text articles from the Wall Street Journal from January 2, 1984 through today's issue. Browse issues, or search as a database; this does not look like the Wall Street Journal with which you are familiar. Citation are available, when you are on the results list, at 'Cite'.
The Michael Schwartz Library and the Wall Street Journal have partnered to provide a complimentary subscription to all current Cleveland State University students, faculty and staff. Subscribers will have full digital access to wsj.com and the Wall Street Journal app and can access through those services after registering.

Activate your complimentary subscription now by visiting https://www.wsj.com/clevelandstate using your CSU credentials and following the instructions.

Music Business Journals

Research Databases available via the Michael Schwartz Library are listed in Alphabetical Order by Title and grouped by Subject Category. If you do not find what you need in the Research Databases listed above, then please try others.

Some journals that might be of interest:

Billboard
Music Week
Rolling Stone
Spin Magazine

Michael Schwartz Library

MUS 310: The Business of Music

Interlibrary Loan

Does CSU Have This Journal?

Core Music and Business Research Databases

Additional Research Databases

Music Business Journals