Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Off-campus access to research databases is restricted to current CSU faculty, staff, and students.
To access research databases from off-campus, you will have to authenticate first -- select Cleveland State University, and then enter your Name, CSU ID No., and Library PIN. If you don't have a Library PIN yet, then you can create one on the My Account page.
Connecting to the Full Text of an Article
-Many articles are available full text online in HTML or PDF format inside the research databases.
-If not, then select the yellow Find It! button or the Full Text Finder(s) link to determine the availability of a specific article when searching the databases. You may be able to connect to the full text of the article in another database. Just follow the links!
-If the article is NOT available in the database or by selecting the other links, then check Journals at CSU. Use Journals at CSU to determine if the Library provides full text access (either online or in print) to the TITLES of specific journals, magazines, and newspapers.
-If the article is not available in any of the sources mentioned above, then request it through Interlibrary Loan.
Articles are published in periodicals -- JOURNALS, MAGAZINES, and NEWSPAPERS. To find articles on a topic, search the Michael Schwartz Library's Research Databases.
The databases are listed in Alphabetical Order by Title and grouped by Subject Category on the Library's website. The Library also provides access to several Newspaper Research Databases.
Research Databases contain citations or references to articles published in various journals, magazines, and newspapers. Research Databases also contain the full text of many articles, either in HTML or PDF format. The Library pays to provide access to these Research Databases -- they are not free!
For academic research, you should include articles from scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. These journals are sometimes called refereed journals.
In the peer review process, an article is reviewed by experts before it is published in a scholarly journal.
Most Research Databases will allow you to LIMIT your results to peer-reviewed journals when searching.
Start with some of the Research Databases listed below to locate articles on a topic.
Make sure to search Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, and Public Administration Abstracts! These databases are especially useful for topics related to Public Administration. If you are looking for news articles, then use the Newspaper Research Databases.
If the article is not available full text in the database you are searching, remember to click on the Find It! button. This will take you to the OLinks screen. If the article is available online in another database, then OLinks will connect you to it. See the instructions to the left for Accessing the Full Text of an Article.
Academic Search Complete (1984-) This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Index to articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text covering scholarly business journals on management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and much more.
Electronic Journal Center This link opens in a new window
Contains almost 10,000 scholarly journal titles from publishers across a wide range of disciplines.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
JSTOR (1838-) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences.
International Political Science Abstracts (1989-) This link opens in a new window
Includes current indexing and abstracts of the world's leading journals in political science from 1989 to present.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (1961-) This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Public Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to public administration, including public administration research, public administration theory, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and cited references for articles in the social sciences.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers over 500 English-language periodicals in the social sciences.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for publications in sociology.
Sociological Collection (1965-) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database with nearly 580 full text titles providing information on all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings.