+ Think of synonyms or similar words that convey the same meaning
+ Look at related terms that are displayed when searching a database to see which words are most commonly used for that topic/concept
+ If you don't get many relevant results in one database, try a different one
+ When you locate a very relevant article, use the terms from that article and its references
+ To connect search terms use AND (to narrow search), OR (to expand search), or NOT (to eliminate terms)
+ To be more specific, search only in the TITLE field
1. Search in the appropriate Research Databases using subject terms for your topic.
2. If the article you want is not available in full text in the database or the link is broken, search for the journal title in the A-Z Journal List to see if CSU has access to the full text of the article.
3. If CSU doesn't subscribe to that journal in print or online format (i.e. it is not in our Journal List), you may request it through Interlibrary Loan.
Search by journal title (NOT article title) to see if CSU subscribes to a particular journal in full text (note date coverage).
Access to the world's most comprehensive and authoritative source of journal and patent references, substances, and reactions in chemistry and related sciences
Peer-reviewed articles are also known as "scholarly" or "refereed" articles. Before being accepted for publication in a journal, they have been reviewed by a panel of experts in that field or on that topic. Peer-reviewed articles are the best available.
Another way to determine if an article is peer-reviewed is by checking the journal title, not article title, in Ulrich's International Periodical Directory. Enter the journal title and if a referee shirt is shown in the listing, it is refereed or peer-reviewed. Click here to check: Ulrich's International Periodical Directory.