Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to CSU Home
Link to CSU Home
Students in the Library

Michael Schwartz Library

216.687.2478
Students in the Connection Lounge
Michael Schwartz Library

A Guide to Counseling: Articles/Research Databases

This Research Guide supports students, faculty, and staff in the School Counseling and the Clinical Mental Health Counseling programs.

Off-Campus Access

Off-campus access to research databases is restricted to current CSU faculty, staff, and students.

To access research databases from off-campus, you will have to authenticate first -- select Cleveland State University, and then enter your Name, CSU ID No., and Library PIN. If you don't have a Library PIN yet, then you can create one on the My Account page.

Interlibrary Loan

Use Interlibrary Loan Services to get articles you need that are not in the Michael Schwartz Library or available online.

Key Journals

Here are the titles of some key journals in Counseling that are available from the Michael Schwartz Library. To get started, Search by Journal Title in the Library's Journals at CSU.

The results from your search will show you where you can access the full text of articles from a particular journal and the dates that are covered.

  • Career Development Quarterly
  • Contemporary Educational Psychology
  • Journal of Adolescence
  • Journal of Counseling and Development
  • Journal of Multicultural Counseling and Development
  • Journal of Youth and Adolescence
  • Measurement and Evaluation in Counseling and Development
  • Professional School Counseling
  • School Psychology Quarterly
  • School Psychology Review

 

 

 

Connecting to the Full Text of an Article

-Many articles are available full text online in HTML or PDF format inside the research databases.

-If not, then select the yellow Find It! button or the Full Text Finder(s) link to determine the availability of a specific article when searching the databases. You may be able to connect to the full text of the article in another database. Just follow the links!

-If the article is NOT available in the database or by selecting the other links, then check Journals at CSU. Use Journals at CSU to determine if the Library provides full text access (either online or in print) to the TITLES of specific journals, magazines, and newspapers.

-If the article is not available in any of the sources mentioned above, then request it through Interlibrary Loan.

Articles & Research Databases

Articles are published in periodicals -- JOURNALS, MAGAZINES, and NEWSPAPERS. To find articles on a topic, search the Michael Schwartz Library's Research Databases. The databases are listed in Alphabetical Order by Title and grouped by Subject Category on the Library's website. The Library also provides access to several Newspaper Research Databases.

Research Databases contain citations or references to articles published in various journals, magazines, and newspapers. Research Databases also contain the full text of many articles, either in HTML or PDF format. You can read the articles online, print them out, email them, or save them to your USB. The Library pays to provide access to these Research Databases -- they are not free!

For academic research, you should include articles from scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. These journals are sometimes called refereed journals. In the peer review process, an article is reviewed by experts before it is published in a scholarly journal. Most Research Databases will allow you to LIMIT your results to peer-reviewed journals when searching.

The Michael Schwartz Library provides access to thousands of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals online via the Research Databases and in paper format on the 4th floor of the Library.

Start your search for articles in the Research Databases listed below. Try searching other databases listed under the Subject Categories of Education, Health & Medicine, Psychology, or Social Work on the Research Databases by Subject page.

Newspaper Research Databases

The Michael Schwartz Library provides access to several Newspaper Research Databases. Here are just a few to use if you are looking for newspaper articles on a topic: