Research Guides: COM 501: Articles

Michael Schwartz Library

Library PIN

Off-campus access to research databases is restricted to current CSU faculty, staff, and students.

To access research databases from off-campus, you will have to authenticate first -- select Cleveland State University, and then enter your name, CSU ID, and Library PIN. If you don't have a Library PIN yet, then you can create one on the My Account page.

Dissertations & Theses

Conference Papers and Proceedings

Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities
This citation index covers conference literature in all fields of social sciences, arts, and humanities.
PapersFirst
Index of papers presented at conferences worldwide
ProceedingsFirst
An index of worldwide conference proceedings.

Communication Research Databases

Communication and Mass Media Complete
Type your topic in the keyword boxes. Click on the box next to 'Also search within the full text of the articles'. Click on Search.
To cite articles, click on the title of the article in the Results List, at the right of the abstract (in the ‘Tools’ column), click on ‘Cite’.

Additional Research Databases

Academic Search Complete (1984-)
Type your topic in the keyword boxes. Click on the box next to 'Also search within the full text of the articles'. Click on Search.
To cite articles, click on the title of the article in the Results List, at the right of the abstract (in the ‘Tools’ column), click on ‘Cite’.
Social Sciences Citation Index
Index, abstracts, and cited references for articles in the social sciences.
Social Sciences Full Text
Type your topic in the keyword boxes. Click on the box next to 'Also search within the full text of the articles'. Click on Search.
To cite articles, click on the title of the article in the Results List, at the right of the abstract (in the ‘Tools’ column), click on ‘Cite’.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (1961-)
Index, abstracts, and full text covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

Accessing Journals and Newspapers

At the Library's homepage (http://library.csuohio.edu/), near the top is a tab 'Journals'. Type the title of the journal or newspaper. The next screen will show what databases contain the journal or newspaper. Then you may click on the appropriate database.

So for the citation: Kwak, N., Lane, D. S., Weeks, B. E., Kim, D. H., Lee, S. S., & Bachleda, S. (2018). Perceptions of social media for politics: Testing the slacktivism hypothesis. Human Communication Research, 44, 197–221. https://doi.org/10.1093/hcr/hqx008

One would search Human Communication Research in the journals search bar, and follow the Full-Text Access options back through the citation.