Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Off-campus access to research databases is restricted to current CSU faculty, staff, and students.
To access research databases from off-campus, you will have to authenticate first -- select Cleveland State University, and then enter your name, CSU ID, and Library PIN. If you don't have a Library PIN yet, then you can create one on the My Account page.
A peer-reviewed (or refereed) journal is one in which the process to determine if an article will be accepted for publication is done by professional colleagues, or peers.
Find It! / OLinks
If an article is not available full text in the database you are searching, then click on the Find It! link.
This brings up the OLinks screen.
If the article is available full text online in another research database, then OLinks will connect you to it.
If the article is available in paper format in a print journal located on the 4th floor of the Michael Schwartz Library, then OLinks will provide that information.
Accessing the Full Text of an Article
-Many articles are available full text online in HTML or PDF format inside the Research Databases.
-If not, then click on the Check for Full Text link or the Find in the EJC link to determine the availability of a specific article when searching the databases. You may be able to connect to the full text of the article in another database. Just follow the links!
-If the article is NOT available in the Research Database or by selecting the other links, then check Journals at CSU. Use Journals at CSU to determine if the Library provides full text access (either online or in print) to the TITLES of specific journals, magazines, and newspapers.
-If the article is not available in any of the sources mentioned above, then request it through Interlibrary Loan.
To find peer-reviewed journal articles on a topic, search in one of the Health Sciences Research Databases listed below.
Research Databases contain citations or references to articles published in various journals, magazines, and newspapers.
Many of the Research Databases also contain the full text of articles, either in HTML or PDF format. You can read the articles online, print them out, email them, or save them to your USB.
Make sure to LIMIT your results to Peer-Reviewed Journals when searching for articles in the Research Databases if your professor requires them!
Health Sciences Research Databases
Start your search for articles in these Health Sciences Research Databases.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Index, abstracts and full-text access to the literature of nursing and allied health.
Education Research Complete
Provides access to full text education journals and also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
Evidence Based Medicine Reviews
Provides content from two databases: Cochrane database of systematic reviews, and Best evidence, a database containing all the articles from ACP journal club and the articles from Evidence-based medicine.
MEDLINE with Full Text
Includes all of the content available in MEDLINE as well as cover-to-cover full text for 1,014 journals indexed as cover-to-cover in MEDLINE, including hundreds of journals not available as full text in any other EBSCO database.
People who serve in the military and veterans face some different health issues than civilians. During wartime, the main health concerns are life-threatening injuries. These include shrapnel and gunshot wounds, lost limbs, and head injuries. Some service members might also have health problems from exposure to environmental hazards, such as contaminated water, chemicals and infections.
Service members and veterans are at risk for mental health problems, too. These include anxiety, post-traumatic stress disorder, depression and substance abuse.
Additional Health Sciences Research Databases
Also search in the following research databases for articles related to Health Sciences:
APA PsycINFO (formerly PsycINFO)
Index and abstracts of articles, books, chapters, dissertations, and reports in psychology.
PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Contains descriptive information and critical reviews of more than 2,000 commercially-available standardized English-language educational, personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, achievement and intelligence tests. Updated semiannually.
OT Seeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. Trials have been critically appraised and rated to assist you to evaluate their validity and interpretability. These ratings will help you to judge the quality and usefulness of trials for informing clinical interventions.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments
Articles on measurement tests in health, psychosocial sciences, and organizational behavior.
More Research Databases
Research Databases available via the Michael Schwartz Library are listed in Alphabetical Order by Title and grouped by Subject Category. If you do not find what you need in the Research Databases listed above, then please try others.