Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to CSU Home
Link to CSU Home
Students in the Library

Michael Schwartz Library

216.687.2478
Students in the Connection Lounge
Michael Schwartz Library

Zora Neale Hurston

A guide to help users research the author and her works.

Zora Neale Hurston Core Research Databases

Start your search for articles in these Research Databases:

General Research Databases

Journal Articles

To find peer-reviewed journal articles on a topic, search in one of the Research Databases listed below. Research Databases contain citations or references to articles published in various journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many of the Research Databases also contain the full text of articles, either in HTML or PDF format.

Examples of key articles relating to Zora Neale Hurston. Use the databases listed on this page to find more.

Fischer, S. A. (January 01, 2007). 'A Glance from God': Zadie Smith's On Beauty and Zora Neale Hurston. Changing English: Studies In Culture & Education, 14, 3, 285-297.

MEANEY, S. (2009). “In My American Fashion”: National Identity, Race, and Gender Tourism in Select Works by Zora Neale Hurston, Grace Seton-Thompson, and Zatella Turner. Women's Studies, 38(7), 765-790. doi:10.1080/00497870903155964

Middleton, Joyce Irene. "Where to look for Zora." The Women's Review of Books Nov. 1995: 28+. Expanded Academic ASAP. Web. 2 July 2012.

Wall, C. A. (2012). Images of Black Modernism: Verbal and Visual Strategies of the Harlem Renaissance. Journal Of American History, 98(4), 1177.