Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to CSU Home
Link to CSU Home
Students in the Library

Michael Schwartz Library

216.687.2478
Students in the Connection Lounge
Michael Schwartz Library

A General Guide: Adult Learning and Development (ALD): Articles/Research Databases

This Research Guide contains resources supporting CSU's Adult Learning & Development Master's Program.

Off-Campus Access

Off-campus access to research databases is restricted to current CSU faculty, staff, and students.

To access research databases from off-campus, you will have to authenticate first -- select Cleveland State University, and then enter your Name, CSU ID No., and Library PIN. If you don't have a Library PIN yet, then you can create one on the My Account page.

Interlibrary Loan

Use Interlibrary Loan Services to get articles you need that are not in the Michael Schwartz Library or available online.

Key Journals

Here are the titles of some key journals in Adult Learning & Development that are available from the Michael Schwartz Library. To get started, search for these journals BY TITLE in the Library's Journals at CSU.

The results from your search will show you where you can access the full text of articles from a particular journal and the dates that are covered.

Adult Basic Education and Literacy Journal

Adult Education Quarterly

Adult Learning

Adults Learning

College Student Affairs Journal

College Student Journal

Human Resource Development Quarterly

International Journal of Lifelong Education

Journal of Adult Education

Journal of College & University Student Housing

Journal of College Student Development

NACADA Journal

New Directions for Adult and Continuing Education

New Directions for Community Colleges

New Directions for Higher Education

New Directions for Institutional Research

New Directions for Student Services

New Horizons in Adult Education & Human Resource Development

 

Articles & Research Databases

Articles are published in periodicals -- JOURNALS, MAGAZINES, and NEWSPAPERS. To find articles on a topic, search the Michael Schwartz Library's Research Databases. The databases are listed in Alphabetical Order by Title and grouped by Subject Category on the Library's website. The Library also provides access to several Newspaper Research Databases.

Research Databases contain citations or references to articles published in various journals, magazines, and newspapers. Research Databases also contain the full text of many articles, either in HTML or PDF format. You can read the articles online, print them out, email them, or save them to your USB. The Library pays to provide access to these Research Databases -- they are not free!

For academic research, you should include articles from scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. These journals are sometimes called refereed journals. In the peer review process, an article is reviewed by experts before it is published in a scholarly journal. Most Research Databases will allow you to LIMIT your results to peer-reviewed journals when searching.

The Michael Schwartz Library provides access to thousands of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals online via the Research Databases and in paper format on the 4th floor of the Library.

Start your search for articles in these Core Education Research Databases. Please note that you have access to two versions of the ERIC database.

Additional Education Research Databases

Research Databases available from the Michael Schwartz Library are listed in Alphabetical Order by Title and grouped by Subject Category. Look under the Education category for a listing of related research databases. Below are some additional research databases that will be helpful.

Newspaper Research Databases

The Michael Schwartz Library provides access to several Newspaper Research Databases. Here are just a few to use if you are looking for newspaper articles on a topic: