Michael Schwartz Library
Michael Schwartz Library
216.687.2478
Yes, the services of the Writing Center are available to doctoral students. Make an appointment to get ideas on writing, academic style, and much more.
Completing Your Qualitative Dissertation: A Road Map from Beginning to End by
Addressing one of the key challenges facing doctoral students, this book fills a gap in qualitative literature by offering comprehensive guidance and practical tools for navigating each step in the qualitative dissertation journey, including the planning, research, and writing phases. Blending the conceptual, theoretical, and practical, the book becomes a dissertation in action--a logical and cohesive explanation and illustration of content and process. The Third Edition maintains key features that distinguish its unique approach and has been thoroughly updated and expanded throughout to reflect and address recent developments in the field.
A Counselor's Guide to the Dissertation Process: Where to Start and How to Finish
Destination Dissertation: A Traveler's Guide to a Done Dissertation by
Destination Dissertation: A Traveler's Guide to a Done Dissertation is a handbook that helps students successfully complete their dissertations. It uses a metaphor of travel to frame the dissertation process as an exciting trip of twenty-nine steps that can be completed in less than nine months. Designed for use by students in all disciplines and for both quantitative and qualitative dissertations, the book shows concrete and efficient processes for completing those parts of the dissertation where students tend to get stuck: conceptualizing a topic, developing a pre-proposal, writing a literature review, writing a proposal, collecting and analyzing data, and writing the last chapter.
Surviving Your Dissertation: A Comprehensive Guide to Content and Process by
Perfect for graduate students as well as behavioural and social scientists who supervise and conduct research! In the fully updated Fourth Edition of their best-selling guide, Surviving Your Dissertation, Rudestam and Newton answer questions concerning every stage of the dissertation process, including: selecting a suitable topic conducting a literature review developing a research question understanding the role of theory selecting an appropriate methodology and research design analysing data interpreting and presenting results. In addition, this must-have guide covers topics that other dissertation guides often miss, such as the many types of quantitative and qualitative research models available, the principles of good scholarly writing, how to work with committees, how to meet IRB and ethical standards, and how to overcome task and emotional blocks. With plenty of current examples, the new edition features an expanded discussion of online research, data collection and analysis, and the use of data archives, as well as expanded coverage of qualitative methods and added information on mixed methods.
The Michael Schwartz Library provides access to dissertations and theses for your research needs. It's important for doctoral students to know how to find other dissertations that have been written. Your dissertation should be unique, so you need to see others so you can take a different approach with your research.
To find those authored by students at Cleveland State University, use the Scholar Online Catalog's Advanced Search. Limit Your Search by Material Type to "THESIS/DISSERTATION".
To locate dissertations and theses by students from Ohio universities that are accessible online, try OhioLINK's Electronic Theses & Dissertations (ETD) Center. You can search by keyword, browse by school and department, or browse by author name.
You also can search for dissertations and theses by Ohio students using the Advanced Keyword Search in the OhioLINK Library Catalog. Limit by Other Material Types to "THESIS/DISS". You can request a PAPER copy via OhioLINK if available.
Use the research database named ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A & I to search for doctoral dissertations and master's theses from North America and Europe. Some provide a free, 24-page preview. Many are available for purchase directly from ProQuest as a PDF download. You can request a PAPER copy of a specific dissertation or thesis using Interlibrary Loan Services.
You may find the following articles helpful while working on your literature review. Remember that the literature review is more than an annotated bibliography; it should summarize the work that has been done in the past on your topic.