Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to CSU Home
Link to CSU Home
Students in the Library

Michael Schwartz Library

216.687.2478
Students in the Connection Lounge
Michael Schwartz Library

ESL and Intensive English Language Program (IELP): Articles

A library guide for IELP and English as a Second Language students and faculty

Combining Search Terms

"OR" Operator - broadens search and increases results

Example: Searching for "College Students" OR "University Students"

----------------------------------------------------

"AND" Operator - narrows search and decreases results

Example: Searching for "College Students" AND Music

Steps to Locate Articles on a Topic

1. Search in the appropriate Research Databases using subject terms for your topic.

2. If the article you want is not available in full text in the database or the link is broken, search for the journal title in the A-Z Journal List.

3. If CSU doesn't subscribe to that journal in print or online format (i.e. it is not in our Journal List), you may request it through Interlibrary Loan.

Find a Journal Reference

Search by journal title to see if CSU subscribes to a particular journal in full text (note date coverage).

Find a Topic

Use the databases below to help find a topic for your paper.

OneSearch

Search on a topic to see the "Research Starter" to get background information and ideas on how to limit your topic.

Research Databases (use to locate journal articles)

Google

Subject Guide

Theresa Nawalaniec's picture
Theresa Nawalaniec

Contact:
Michael Schwartz Library
RT 110F
216-687-3504

Peer-Reviewed Articles

Peer-reviewed articles are also known as "scholarly" or "refereed" articles.  Before being accepted for publication in a journal, they have been reviewed by a panel of experts in that field or on that topic. Peer-reviewed articles are the best available.

A search in Academic Search Complete and other select research databases can be limited to peer-reviewed journal articles by checking off the "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" box under "Limit your results."