Michael Schwartz Library

216.687.2478

A Guide to Music

This research guide is a general guide to music resources at the Michael Schwartz Library.

Library PIN

Off-campus access to research databases is restricted to current CSU faculty, staff, and students.

To access research databases from off-campus, you will have to authenticate first -- select Cleveland State University, and then enter your name, CSU ID, and Library PIN. If you don't have a Library PIN yet, then you can create one on the My Account page.

Interlibrary Loan

Use Interlibrary Loan Services to get articles you need that are not in the Michael Schwartz Library or available online.

Core Music Research Databases

Music Index (1979-) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature featuring digitized content from 1970 to present about music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 480 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, & news.
JSTOR (1838-) This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database containing over 1000 different academic journals with over 2 million articles, as well as photos, editorials, & reviews.

Additional Music Research Databases

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text (1984-) This link opens in a new window
The IBDT is the definitive research tool for the study of theatre and the performing arts. It contains more than 530 full-text titles, including more than 170 full-text journals.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
Cleveland Orchestra Program Notes Index This link opens in a new window
This database is an index to the programs notes (and subsequently, the performances) of the Cleveland Orchestra.

Musical America
News, reports, and other relevant sources about music industry groups and organizations.

More Research Databases

Research Databases available via the Michael Schwartz Library are listed in Alphabetical Order by Title and grouped by Subject Category. If you do not find what you need in the Research Databases listed above, then please try others.