Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to CSU Home
Link to CSU Home
Students in the Library

Michael Schwartz Library

216.687.2478
Students in the Connection Lounge
Michael Schwartz Library

NUR 200 - Theory and Professional Practice: Articles

A guide for students in Nursing 200 classes

Choosing Search Terms

+ Think of synonyms or similar words that convey the same meaning

+ Look at related terms that are displayed when searching a database to see which words are most commonly used for that topic/concept

+ If you don't get many relevant results in one database, try a different one

+ When you locate a very relevant article, use the terms from that article and its references

+ To connect search terms use AND (to narrow search), OR (to expand search), or NOT (to eliminate terms)

+ To be more specific, search only in the TITLE field

Find a Journal Reference

Search by journal title (NOT article title) to see if CSU subscribes to a particular journal in full text (note date coverage).

Interlibrary Loan

After searching in Journals at CSU, if the article or paper you need is not available at CSU, you may request it through Interlibrary Loan.

Peer-Reviewed Articles

Peer-reviewed articles are also known as "scholarly" or "refereed" articles.  Before being accepted for publication in a journal, they have been reviewed by a panel of experts in that field or on that topic. Peer-reviewed articles are the best available.

A search in CINAHL and other select research databases can be limited to peer-reviewed journal articles by checking off the "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" box under "Limit your results."

Core Nursing Research Databases

Start your search for articles in these Core Nursing Research Databases.
The first 3 databases (CINAHL, Health Source, and MEDLINE) can be searched simultaneously, by
clicking on the "Choose Databases" link at the top of the CINAHL database).

_______________________________________

Google Scholar

Biography Database

Subject Guide

Theresa Nawalaniec's picture
Theresa Nawalaniec

Contact:
Michael Schwartz Library
RT 110F
216-687-3504