Research Guides: UST 692: Capstone Seminar in Public Administration: Articles / Research Databases

Michael Schwartz Library

OneSearch

Use OneSearch to find books, articles, and more -- all in a single search! For example, a basic keyword search on public policy administration retrieves over 150,000 items!

Remember to use the operator AND to combine your search terms and to narrow your results. For example, a search on food stamps AND public policy in OneSearch retrieves over 101,000 results.

Use the limits in OneSearch to narrow your results. You can limit results to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals. You can limit results by Publication Date. You can limit by Source Type, for example, to see Books, eBooks, Academic Journals, Magazines, or News.

Articles / Research Databases

Articles are published in periodicals -- journals, magazines, and newspapers. To find articles on a topic, search the Michael Schwartz Library's Research Databases.

For academic research, you should include articles from scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. In the peer review process, an article is reviewed by other experts in the same discipline before it is published in a scholarly journal. Most databases will allow you to limit your results to peer-reviewed journals when searching. Research studies are published in peer-reviewed journals.

Below are links to some key Research Databases where you can find articles related to public administration.

Good databases to start with are named:

Academic Search Complete
Business Source Complete

The database named JSTOR is good for historical research since it contains articles dating back to the early 1800s.

Academic Search Complete
Indexes, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
Business Source Complete
Index, abstracts, and full text covering scholarly business journals, business and industry news on management, economics, marketing, finance, accounting, international business and much more.
Education Research Complete
Provides access to full text education journals and also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
International Political Science Abstracts
Includes current indexing and abstracts of the world's leading journals in political science from 1989 to present.
JSTOR
Full text access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in various disciplines of the humanities and social sciences.
Political Science Complete
Provides full text for more than 520 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals), many of which are unique to the product. The database also features over 340 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 36,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
Public Affairs Index
A bibliographic database covering all aspects of global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international conflict and natural disasters. It draws on a diverse array of scholarly publications, conference papers, government documents and current reference works to provide up-to-date information on the broad range of topics of concern to the world today.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Comprehensive coverage of scholarly literature in sociology and the social sciences.
Sociological Collection (1965-)
Comprehensive database with coverage of more than 500 full text journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles. Sociological Collection offers information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure. Updated daily.

Remote Access

Off campus?

Many electronic resources (research databases, eBooks, etc.) are limited to current CSU students, faculty, and staff when accessed remotely. You may be prompted to authenticate by entering your CampusNet ID and Password.

More information about signing in

Connecting to the Full Text of an Article

-Many articles are available full text online in HTML or PDF format in the Research Databases. Look for buttons and/or links that say Access Options, Available Online, PDF Full Text, Get PDF, or something similar.

-If an article is NOT available full text from the database you are searching, then check Journal Finder. Use Journal Finder to determine if the Michael Schwartz Library provides full text access (either online or in print) to the TITLES of specific journals, magazines, or newspapers.

-Search for the article title in Google Scholar. Make sure Google Scholar is connected to Cleveland State University and Open WorldCat. Go to Settings--Library Links.

-If the article is not available in any of the sources mentioned above, then request it through Interlibrary Loan.