Skip to Main Content

Link to CSU Home

Link to CSU Home

Students in the Library

Michael Schwartz Library

216.687.2478

Students in the Connection Lounge

Michael Schwartz Library

HIS 401: History Seminar (Modern Europe)

A guide for students conducting research in HIS 401.

Internet Primary Sources

Internet History Sourcebooks
See other tabs for more specific links to the sourcebooks
Archives Portal: Europe
Access to information on archival material from different European countries as well as information on archival institutions throughout the continent.
International Institute of Social History: Datafiles of Historical Prices and Wages
Global Price and Income History Group: Europe
European History Primary Sources
European University Institute
European Union Government Documents
Hathitrust
Hathitrust has partnered with institutions around the world to collect scanned books. Many of the books in the collection are in the public domain. Individual copyright status for each book will be indicated.
Europeana Art History Collection
Europeana searches various art collections from all over Europe. Copyright status will be indicated per individual images.

British History Online
A digital library of key printed primary and secondary sources for the history of Britain and Ireland, with a primary focus on the period between 1300 and 1800.
National Archives (U.K.)
The UK government's official archive, from Domesday Book to websites
Voice of the Shuttle: General British History Resources
List of resources developed by U.California, Santa Barbara

Leo Baeck Institute for the Study of German-Jewish History and Culture
Digital collections
German History in Documents and Images
German Historical Institute
Eurodocs: History of Germany
Primary documents about German history
Modern History Primary Sources: Germany
Compiled by Macquarie University Library
German History Sources
Compiled by Stanislaus State
German Propaganda Archive
Compiled by Calvin College
German Historical Documents
The Hoover Institution

World War One Collection
British Library
Nazi Germany Documents
Translated into English
German Propaganda Archive
Calvin College
World War I Document Archive
Compiled by Richard Hacken of BYU
Internet History Sourcebook: Nazism
Fordham University

Archives of Women's Political Communication
Speeches and political ads for more than 300 women candidates that are easily accessible through the online archives.

Defining Gender (1450-1910): Five Centuries of Advice Literature Online This link opens in a new window
Original documents from libraries and archives around the world.

WWW Virtual Library: Women's History
A list of women's history institutions and organizations, archival and library collections, and links to Internet resources on women's history.

World Digital Library: Arts
Collection of print and visual resources. Use limiters in left column to focus search on a specific geography, date range, topic or type of resource.
Getty Research Institute: Special Collections
Digitized images and other primary source documents

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Digital images and associated information, with new image collections added several times a year.
Mobile version of ARTstor.

Books by Subject

Europe 1715-1919: From enlightenment to world war by Shirley Elson Roessler; Reinhold Miklos
Call Number: eBook - Click link to access
ISBN: 0742527662
Publication Date: 2003
Modern Europe, 1789-Present by Asa Briggs; Patricia Clavin
Call Number: D299 .B696 2003 - 2nd Floor Stacks
ISBN: 0582772605
Publication Date: 2003
A People's History of Modern Europe by William A. Pelz
Call Number: eBook - Click link to access
ISBN: 9781783717682
Publication Date: 2016
The Boundaries of Europe: From the fall of the ancient world to the age of decolonisation by Pietro Rossi (Editor)
Call Number: eBook - Click link to access
ISBN: 9783110425567
Publication Date: 2015

The Stab-In-the-Back Myth and the Fall of the Weimar Republic by George S. Vascik (Editor); Mark R. Sadler (Editor)
Call Number: OhioLINK Book - Click to Request
ISBN: 9781474227803
Publication Date: 2016
Nationalism and Revolution in Europe, 1763-1848 by Dean Kostantaras
Call Number: eBook - Click link to access
ISBN: 9789462985186
Publication Date: 2020
A Companion to Nineteenth-Century Europe, 1789 - 1914 by Stefan Berger (Editor)
Call Number: D299 .C623 2006 - 2nd Floor Stacks
ISBN: 9781405113205
Publication Date: 2006
Revolution from 1789 to 1906; documents selected and edited with notes and introductions by Raymond Postgate by Postgate, Raymond William
Call Number: D361 .P65 1962 - 2nd Floor Stacks
Publication Date: 1962

Fifty Major Documents of the 20th Century, 1950-2000 by Taylor Stults (Editor)
Call Number: D839.3 .F55 2004 - Law Library Stacks
ISBN: 1575242044
Publication Date: 2004
Sources in European Political History by Chris Cook; Geoff Pugh
Call Number: Z2000 .C57 1987 - 4th Floor Stacks
ISBN: 0816010161
Publication Date: 1987
Breakdown and Rebirth, 1914 to the Present by Thomas G. Barnes (Editor); Gerald D. Feldman (Editor)
Call Number: D411 .B36 1982 - 2nd Floor Stacks
ISBN: 9780819123664
Publication Date: 1982
A Companion to Europe, 1900 - 1945 by Gordon Martel (Editor)
Call Number: D424 .C66 2006 - 2nd Floor Stacks
ISBN: 9781405106641
Publication Date: 2006
A History in Fragments: Europe in the twentieth century by Richard Vinen
Call Number: D424 .V564 2001 - 2nd Floor Stacks
ISBN: 0306810638
Publication Date: 2001
Twentieth-Century Europe: A brief history, 1900 to the present by Michael D. Richards (Original Author); Paul R. Waibel (Original Author)
Call Number: eBook - Click Link to Access
ISBN: 9781118651414
Publication Date: 2014-04-07

Contemporary History on Trial: Europe since 1989 and the role of the expert historian by Harriet Jones (Editor); Kjell Ostberg (Editor); Nico Randeraad (Editor)
Call Number: D2003 .C66 2007 - 2nd Floor Stacks
ISBN: 9780719074172
Publication Date: 2007