Skip to Main Content

Link to CSU Home

Link to CSU Home

Students in the Library

Michael Schwartz Library

216.687.2478

Students in the Connection Lounge

Michael Schwartz Library

ENG 695: Graduate Seminar

A guide for students conducting research in this graduate seminar course.

Online Reference Materials

Bibliography of American Literature
Selective bibliography limited to the material which constitutes the structure of American literature of the past one hundred fifty years.

Oxford Reference Online
Scholarly dictionaries covering general reference, language reference, and multiple subject areas.

Directory of Contemporary Poets & Writers
Names, addresses, and publication credits for 9,315 contemporary authors
Literary Movements for Students
A guide to understanding, studying, and enjoying literary movements.
This Year's Works in English Studies
Qualitative narrative bibliographical review of scholarly work on English language and literature written in English.

Biography Reference Bank
Biographical information on approximately half a million people from antiquity to the present.
Literary Reference Source Plus
Journal articles and other resources about literature from antiquity to the present day.

Additional Resources
List of additional biographical sources,

Oxford English Dictionary
Historical dictionary and the definitive record of the English language.

Dictionary of Writers and Their Works (Oxford Reference)
An essential guide to authors and their works that focuses on the general canon of British literature from the fifteenth-century to the present.
Concise Oxford Dictionary of English Etymology
The principal authority on the origin and development of English words.

Oxford Paperback Thesaurus
Provides synonyms, opposites, and related terms; includes real examples of usage.
Thesaurus.com

From the CSU Collection

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Literary Theory by Irena R. Makaryk (Editor)
Call Number: OhioLINK

ISBN: 0802059147

Publication Date: 1993-04-19
Literary Theory by David Ayers
Call Number: PR21 .A94 2008 , 4th Floor

ISBN: 9781405136013

Publication Date: 2008-01-03
The Penguin Dictionary of Literary Terms and Literary Theory by J. A. Cuddon
Call Number: PN41 .C83 1999 - 4th Floor Stacks

ISBN: 0140513639

Publication Date: 2000

Last Updated: Aug 26, 2025 3:25 PM
URL: https://researchguides.csuohio.edu/ENG695
Print Page

Subjects: English Language & Literature

Tags: british literature, courtship plot, english literature, literature