Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to CSU Home
Link to CSU Home
Students in the Library

Michael Schwartz Library

216.687.2478
Students in the Connection Lounge
Michael Schwartz Library

Research for MSN and Doctoral Nursing Students: Articles

Finding Primary Sources

A primary source article is a research paper that contains original research by the author(s). Usually these papers will have methods and results sections. It is not a systematic review or literature review that only compiles other researcher(s) work and findings. These reviews are secondary sources.

Steps to Locating Articles on a Topic

1. Search in the appropriate Research Databases using subject terms for your topic.

2. If the article you want is not available in full text in the database or the link is broken, search for the journal title in Journal List below.

3. If CSU doesn't subscribe to that journal in print or online format (i.e. it is not in our Journal List), you may request it through Interlibrary Loan.

Find a Journal Reference

Search by journal title (NOT article title) to see if CSU subscribes to a particular journal in full text (note date coverage).

Interlibrary Loan

After searching in Journals at CSU, if the article or paper you need is not available at CSU, you may request it through Interlibrary Loan.

Peer-Reviewed Articles

Peer-reviewed articles are also known as "scholarly" or "refereed" articles.  Before being accepted for publication in a journal, they have been reviewed by a panel of experts in that field or on that topic. Peer-reviewed articles are the best available.

A search in CINAHL and other select research databases can be limited to peer-reviewed journal articles by checking off the "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" box under "Limit your results."

Core Nursing Research Databases

Start your search for articles in these Core Nursing Research Databases.
The first 3 databases (CINAHL, Health Source, and MEDLINE) can be searched simultaneously, by
clicking on the "Choose Databases" link at the top of the CINAHL database).

_______________________________________

Citation Database

Google Scholar

Nursing Librarian

Theresa Nawalaniec's picture
Theresa Nawalaniec

Contact:
Michael Schwartz Library
RT 110F
216-687-3504

Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)