Approach your research with a spirit of inquiry and search the literature systematically:

• explore multiple databases
• consider different ways to describe the essential elements of your topic using keywords and controlled vocabulary terms (e.g., MeSH terms/headings)
• search concepts separately to reveal limiting variables
• combine concepts strategically to narrow your topic
• use database limiters/filters thoughtfully (do not overuse!)
• apply inclusion/exclusion criteria as you skim result lists instead of including too many concepts in one search
• Schedule a research appointment to explore the literature with a database navigation expert!

Many of these databases can be searched simultaneously. Start in CINAHL and click Choose Databases above the search boxes to make your selections.

_________________________________________________

More Databases:

Productive and effective searching:

• Start with one or two keywords 
  • Add terms with AND to narrow results (hypertension AND exercise)
  • If needed, combine synonyms with OR to include related terms (cardiac or heart)
• Review results to brainstorm additional or alternate keyword options
• Try multiple searches with different keywords and explore more than one database
• Apply limiters thoughtfully
  • After seeing how productive your keywords are, limit by date range and English language
  • Other limiters to try:
    • Peer Reviewed (articles must be approved by other scholars before publication)
    • Other database-specific limit options (type of study or article, age range, etc.)

Can't access the article or book you need? Use our Inter-library loan (ILL) service!