This is the "Tutorial: How to Use Electronic Course Reserves" page of the "Electronic Course Reserves" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Electronic Course Reserves  

Everything you need to know about accessing course reserves at the Michael Schwartz Library at Cleveland State University
Last Updated: Aug 22, 2014 URL: http://researchguides.csuohio.edu/ecr Print Guide

Tutorial: How to Use Electronic Course Reserves Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Need Your Course Password?

To access course material on ECR, you'll need your four-digit course-specific password. If you're unsure what it is, contact your instructor.

 

Contact Us

Questions? Contact Joanne Cornelius, Course Reserve Supervisor at (216) 687-6954.

 

How to Use Electronic Course Reserves

How to Use Electronic Course Reserves


We recommend using Internet Explorer or Google Chrome for optimum pdf viewing.

To access Electronic Course Reserves, click on "Electronic Course Reserves" from the Library's homepage. You can also access the system directly using this link: http://researchguides.csuohio.edu/er.php

 Click on "Electronic Course Reserves" from the Library's homepage

 The “Research Guides – E-Reserves by Course” page will appear: 

The Research Guides - -Ereserves page will appear

  Before you begin searching for items on Electronic Course Reserve you’ll need to know:

  • Your instructor's name (at least the last name)
  • The course number or name
  • The four-digit password provided to you by your professor. Note: this is NEW to the Electronic Course Reserve system beginning Spring semester 2013. If you don't know your password, contact your instructor.

To begin, start typing the course number, course name or instructor’s last name in the box until a list of courses appears. Click on your course from that list:  

You'll land on this page where you'll need to review the copyright statement and enter your 4 digit course password

You’ll  land on this page where you’ll need to review the copyright statement and enter your 4-digit course password:

You'll land on this page where you'll need to review the copyright statement and enter your 4 digit password

That will take you to this page. Course reserve materials are located in folders by format: Electronic, Book and Multimedia. Within each folder, items are arranged alphabetically by title. Click on a title to access an item directly or direct you to the electronic journal that contains the item:  

Folders are arranged by format: Electronic , Book, and Multimedia

Clicking on theClicking on the icon to the right of an item will open a dialog boxicon to the right of any item within any folder will open a dialog box that contains citation information as well as a link to the item:  

Clicking ont he icon to the right of an item within a folder opens a dialog box with citation information and link to the item

   The Electronic reserves folder contains:

  • Links to articles available through CSU electronic journals and other open source materials. If you’re off-campus accessing CSU electronic journals, you’ll be required to log-in with your CSU id and PIN before connecting to the resource: 

If you're accessing materials off-campus, you'll be required to log-in using your CSU id and pin number

 The Book reserves folder contains:

  • Links books in the Library’s collection that are reserved specifically for your course. Reserve books can be checked out at the User Services Center or Multimedia Services, depending on the location of the item. To check out  material you’ll need to provide Library desk with your course number, instructor’s name and the title of the book.  Your CSU id is required to check out Reserve materials:

The books book contains links to books in the collection that are on reserve

The entry in the Library's on-line catalog indicates location,call number and availability of the book on reserve.

The Multimedia reserves folder contains:

  • Links to streaming audio and video files on the Library’s streaming server. Adobe Flash Player 10+ is needed to play multimedia. You can download it here for free: http://www.adobe.com/software/flash/about/

 The multimedia folder includes links to streaming audio and video files                                                       To play audio or video files, click on the start arrow.

  • Links to digital audio and video available through CSU’s subscription databases.  As with CSU electronic journals, if you’re connecting from off-campus you’ll be prompted for your CSU user name and password to be authenticated as a CSU student:

Links to digital and audio avaialable trhough CSU's databases

  • Links to physical audio and video materials reserved specifically for your course. This includes cds, dvds, audiocassettes and VHS tapes avilable to check-out for a limited period of time at the Multimedia Services desk on the 3rd floor of the Library. To check out these materials, you'll need to provide Library desk staff with the course number, instructor's name and title of the item. Your CSU id is required to check out Reserve material: 

  Links to physical audio and video materials reserved for your course

The entry in the Library's on-line catalog indicates location,call number and availability of the media on reserve

 

Additional Information

Since the E-reserves system is integrated with the Library’s Research Guide pages, it’s possible that related subject guides may be linked in your course reserve page as requested by your instructor. These guides, prepared by Librarian subject specialists, provide valuable research information specific to your course subject:

 The E-reserves page is integrated into the Library's Research Guide pages

 

For assistance with ECR, contact:

Joanne Cornelius, Electronic Course Reserves Supervisor

j.cornelius@csuohio.edu 

216-687-6954

 

Vern Morrison, Electronic Course Reserves Associate

v.morrison@csuohio.edu

 216.687.6929

 

Michael Schwartz Library, Cleveland State University
(216) 687-2479
Rhodes Tower 2121 Euclid Avenue
Cleveland, Ohio 44115-2214

We bring people and information together.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip