Selection for 2013-2014

Did you enjoy reading Life of Pi?

Check SCHOLAR online catalog to see if a copy is currently available.

You may also want to check:

OhioLINK

Cuyahoga County Public Library

Cleveland Public Library (requires a CLVENET card).

These worksheets will be used during the library session.

Welcome to the Michael Schwartz Library at Cleveland State University!

This guide is designed for first year students enrolled in ASC 101 & ASC 101 Scholars. 

The purpose of this guide is to assist students in navigating the research process and locate high quality, credible sources their evaluative annotated bibliography assignment.  Students will also learn valuable information about the Library's services, resources, collections, and research tools.  

Others are also invited to explore the information on these pages.

Check out the Common Reading Experience website at the Michael Schwartz Library.

Relax! An annotated bibliography is NOT a full-blown research paper. 

To create an annotated bibliography first you list the complete publication information for the source. Then you write an "annotation," or brief note about the source, that summarizes the content, explains its usefulness to your research, evaluates its method, conclusions, or reliability, and/or records your reactions to the source. 

When you create an annotated bibliography, you will format the paper and the citations in a specified style such as Modern Languages Association (MLA) or American Psychological Association (APA). Most sections of ASC 101, will use MLA style.  Ask your instructor which style you should use.

Why is this one of the ASC 101 Assignments?

• A common assignment
• Learn foundational skills for upper level courses
• Prepare for ENG 101 & 102 assignments
• Practice general writing skills
• Acquire information literacy skills
• Gain experience conducting research
• Develop an awareness of library resources & services
• Practice using MLA style
• Sharpen critical thinking

More information and examples 

• Purdue OWL: Annotated Bibliographies 
  
  
• Diana Hacker's Handbook: MLA Style
     

Below you will find the handouts for the library visit and the Common Reading Research Assignment, an annotated bibliography. Please talk with your instructor if you have any questions.

You may contact  Ann Marie Smeraldi, First Year Experience Librarian, if you need help with your research.   

If you are a nursing student and your instrcutor has told you to use APA, refer to these annotated biblography examples.

If you are not sure, ask your instructor which style you should use.