This is the "Home" page of the "A General Guide: Poetry" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

A General Guide: Poetry   Tags: eng, english, literary, literature, poetry, poets  

Guide to resources for researching poets and their poetry.
Last Updated: Oct 24, 2014 URL: http://researchguides.csuohio.edu/poetry Print Guide

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Writing About Poetry

Analyzing and writing about poetry is a common component of many introductory literature courses.  Not sure where to begin? Consult the Online Writing Center at Purdue's 

Writing About Poetry

 

Poets Time Line

Are you looking for poets that publisehd their works during a specific time line? Poet Seers has a handy Poets Time Line.

Check the Poets Seers home page for other useful subcategories such as female, romatic, or spiritual poets. 

 

Get Inspired

Cover Art
How We Became Human - Joy Harjo
Call Number: PS3558.A62423 H69 2002
ISBN: 0393051013
Publication Date: 2002

Cover Art
Keats - John Keats
Call Number: PR4832 1994
ISBN: 9780679433194
Publication Date: 1994

Cover Art
Walt Whitman's Leaves of Grass - Walt Whitman; David S. Reynolds (Editor)
Call Number: PS3201 2005b
ISBN: 9780195183429
Publication Date: 2005

 

Research Guide for Poetry

Welcome to the research guide for poetry.  This guide provides information about the Michael Schwartz Library's poetry collection as well as the resources that will assist you in exploring and researching all aspects of poetry including poets, criticism, analysis, and composition.

 

Michael Schwartz Library Poetry Collection

The poetry collection is located on the Library's fourth floor in the call number range PN1010 through PN1525.

Contemporary poetry books may also be found in the Contemporary Poetry Room, also on the fourth floor.  A key is needed to access the room. Please visit the Learning Commons reference desk located on the first floor to check out the key. A Viking card is required.

Selected books from the collection:

Cover Art
Notable Poets - Salem Press Editors (Editor)
Call Number: PN1021 .N68 1998, v. 1-3 (1st floor Reference)
ISBN: 0893569674
Publication Date: 1998
This three-volume set collects biographical sketches and critical studies of 110 of the world's best-known poets from antiquity to the late twentieth century.

Cover Art
World Poets - Ron Padgett (Editor)
Call Number: PN1021 .W67 2000, v. 1-3 (1st floor Reference)
ISBN: 068480591X
Publication Date: 2000


 

Contemporary Poetry Room

The Hazel Collister Hutchison Contemporary Poetry Room, jointly managed by the Library and the CSU Poetry Center, houses a major collection of contemporary poetry books and journals founded on gifts from the Cleveland poet, Hazel Collister Hutchison and from the CSU Poetry Center. The collection is open to students, writers, and the community.
                                                                      

Poetry Room


The room is used often for Poetry Center workshops and meetings, and occasionally for creative writing classes. This is the only collection of its kind in northern Ohio.  The Poetry Center is located on the fourth floor of the Michael Schwartz Library.  To access the room students, faculty and staff must check out the room key at the Learning Commons reference desk on the Library's first floor. A current Viking card is required. 

For more information call (216) 687-6997.

Personal Librarian

Profile Image
Mandi Goodsett

Michael Schwartz Library, Cleveland State University
(216) 687-2479
Rhodes Tower 2121 Euclid Avenue
Cleveland, Ohio 44115-2214

We bring people and information together.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip