This is the "Home" page of the "A General Guide: Music" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

A General Guide: Music   Tags: music, recordings, scores, therapy, writing  

This research guide is a general guide to music resources at the Michael Schwartz Library.
Last Updated: Dec 10, 2014 URL: http://researchguides.csuohio.edu/music Print Guide

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Pin

Please create a Library PIN if you don't have one already! You need a Library PIN to access your Library account and to search the research databases from off-campus.

 

Welcome!

Welcome to the Research Guide for Music Students! The resources collected here will help you complete class assignments and projects. Feel free to explore the tabs above to get specific research help.

I would love to meet with you individually to help you get started with your research or to answer any questions. Please call me or email me if you need research assistance or if you would like to schedule an appointment (see the box to the right).

 

About the CSU Music Collection

The Library's collection is strong in the areas of music education, music history, performance, composition, ethnomusicology, jazz, electronic music and performance. The collection consists of books, periodicals, scores, sound recordings, video recordings and films. The collection of performance scores is strong in both instrumental and vocal music; there is a research collection of composers' collected editions and monuments of music.

Of particular note are the Herbert Elwell Archives, South Indian music collections, and contemporary Polish music. There is also a collection of Senior Projects papers prepared in fulfillment of the requirements for the B.A. degree. The reference collection contains major bibliographies and research guides, discographies and indexes available in English and foreign languages. There are approximately 15,000 volumes of scores; over 7,000 volumes in music history; over 1,900 volumes in music instruction and study; and well over 7,000 recordings

 

Tutorial on Internet Searching for Music

Internet for Music  This is a free online tutorial to help you, as a university student, develop your Internet research skills for music.

Personal Librarian

Profile Image
Mandi Goodsett
 

New Music Student Orientation

Michael Schwartz Library, Cleveland State University
(216) 687-2479
Rhodes Tower 2121 Euclid Avenue
Cleveland, Ohio 44115-2214

We bring people and information together.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip