Articles provide:

• Breaking news
• Current, up-to-date information
• Narrow focus on one aspect of a topic
• Original research
• Bibliography of additional sources

When you want to use the research databases or electronic book collections from an off-campus location, you will be asked to: 

1. Select your school/institution
2. Enter your name
3. Enter your CSU student number
4. Enter your Library PIN

Before purchasing an article you find on the Internet, check with a librarian to see if the library has access to it at no extra charge. 

Research databases are the online tools you should use to search for articles on your topic. These databases include information about articles that have been published in journals, magazines, and newspapers.

Some research databases even provide access to book reviews, film reviews, dramas, financial reports, and many other sources of information. Research Database are even starting to add book chapters

Many of the articles listed in the databases are available in full-text format. Full-text means the entire text of the article is available online. You can read, print, or email the article directly from the computer.

From Ohio Dominican University

There are many ways to search for articles using WorldCat@CSU. Here is one way.

1. Enter your keywords into the search box
2. To the left of the result list, you may use the check box under "Format" to limit to articles only.
3. Articles availabe at CSU Library will be at the top of the result list.

What does "peer reviewed" mean? Check out the Scholarly Sources tab to find out.

CSU students have access to almost 200 research databases. We will focus on one database, Academic Search Complete, an EBSCO database. Academic Search Complete covers all academic areas of study and is recommended for undergraduate reearch.  There is a direct link to the Research Databases on the Library's Home page under the picture. You may also view the databases by subject.

More Tutorials from EBSCO