Michael Schwartz Library
Michael Schwartz Library
216.687.2478
Earlier in your search process, to find more results, search by KEYWORD. When you find an item that looks promising, you can use it as a jumping-off point by clicking the Find Similar Items or Full Record tabs in the catalog record for the SUBJECT information. Clicking a SUBJECT in a record performs a SUBJECT search, which can help you find more specific matches.
To search for a specific, known item, use either TITLE or ISBN number. Click the 'v' by KEYWORD to change to either TITLE or ISBN.
A good place to start working on your paper is in an encyclopedia. One of those listed below may be helpful in getting your research started.
Encyclopedia of anthropology by H.James Birx.
Anthropology of religion by Stevens & Szafran
Routledge encyclopedia of social and cultural anthropology by Barnard & Spencer
Sexualities in Anthropology by
This thought-provoking new collection, Sexualities in Anthropology: A Reader offers insights into the diversity of human social beliefs and practices relating to sexuality in different times and in different cultures around the world. Substantial editorial introductions set each Part in context of the field, providing readers helpful background and explanatory notes. Presents a comprehensive collection of key historical and current readings in the social anthropology of sexuality Includes literature on both heterosexualities and same-sex sexualities Explores the key works and major debates of prominent scholars in the field, such as Mead, Malinowski, Newton, Herdt, and others Introduces readers to major theoretical developments ("essentialist" and "constructionist" positions)
Anthropology of Religion by
Religious belief is an extremely powerful motivator of human behaviour. Religious considerations permeate and influence all parts of a culture. Religious systems are universal in human cultures, around the world and through all stages of human history and prehistory. Of all academic approaches to religion, the anthropological approach is the most comprehensive and the most useful to students of human belief and behaviour, because it examines religion as a cultural system that cannot fully be understood separated from the other systems with which it interacts. This new four-volume collection from Routledge assembles exemplary scholarship in the field from its Victorian beginnings to the present, and represents all generally accepted categories of religious belief and ritual, plus some new ones. Topics covered include: 'Early Explorations'; 'Symbols'; 'Supernatural Beings'; 'Magical Power and Forces'; 'Human Agents of Supernatural Danger'; 'Myth'; 'Ritual'; 'Religious Practitioners'; 'Women and Gender'; 'Belief'; 'Ecology'; 'Mind and Body--Neurobiological Bases'; and 'Religion in Socio-Cultural Change'. The first volume is prefaced with a general introduction newly written by the editor which outlines the history and salient aspects of the anthropological concern for religion, and introduces the specific sections of the work. Each thematic part also includes a short introduction to set the gathered materials in context. Anthropology of Religionis destined to be valued by scholars, students, researchers, and practitioners as an essential one-stop reference. '; 'Women and Gender'; 'Belief'; 'Ecology'; 'Mind and Body--Neurobiological Bases'; and 'Religion in Socio-Cultural Change'. The first volume is prefaced with a general introduction newly written by the editor which outlines the history and salient aspects of the anthropological concern for religion, and introduces the specific sections of the work. Each thematic part also includes a short introduction to set the gathered materials in context. Anthropology of Religionis destined to be valued by scholars, students, researchers, and practitioners as an essential one-stop reference.
The Anthropology of Religion, Magic, and Witchcraft by
This concise introductory textbook emphasizes the major concepts of both anthropology and the anthropology of religion. It is aimed at students encountering anthropology for the first time. Reviewers describe the text as vivid, rich, user-friendly, accessible, and well-organized. The Anthropology of Religion, Magic, and Witchcraftexamines religious expression from a cross-cultural perspective while incorporating key theoretical concepts. In addition to providing a basic overview of anthropology, including definition of key terms and exposure to ethnographies, the text exposes students to the varying complexity of world religions.
Designing an Anthropology Career by
Launching a career is challenging and, at times, intimidating. Designing an Anthropology Career provides undergraduate and graduate students with the tools they need to identify their career goals and follow through on them. Part I establishes a framework for how to design a career in anthropology or other related fields. Part II contains a series of professional development exercises to help readers articulate their personal and professional histories, special abilities, and career goals. Each exercise is followed by a sample completed by an anthropology student or anthropologist to provide models for readers to complete their own exercises, which will be invaluable tools for choosing the right career. Throughout the text, the authors take a broad perspective to encourage readers to imagine an evolving anthropology career as a lifetime endeavor. Book jacket.