This is the "Home" page of the "ASC 101 Common Reading Research Guide 2012-2013: In Defense of Food " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ASC 101 Common Reading Research Guide 2012-2013: In Defense of Food   Tags: asc 101, bus 101, common reading, first year students, hon 101, in defense of food, introduction to university life  

This guide provides information about the common reading and annotated bibliography assignment for the Introduction to University Life course. It includes valuable research tips and resources that will help students find their sources.
Last Updated: Nov 6, 2014 URL: http://researchguides.csuohio.edu/ASC101_2012 Print Guide

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

The Common Reading

Selection for 2012-2013

Cover Art
In Defense of Food - Michael Pollan
Call Number: RA784 .P643 2008
ISBN: 1594201455
Publication Date: 2008
"Eat food. Not too much. Mostly plants." These simple words go to the heart of food journalist Pollan's thesis.

 

Rate the Book

Did you enjoy In Defense of Food?






 

Borrow a copy of the book from the Library

Check Scholar to see if a copy is currently available.

Go to the User Services desk at the Michael Schwartz Library. 

  • Three copies are available for 7 day loan. 
  • Two copies are available for 2 hour loan, library use only.

    You may also want to check:

    OhioLINK
    Cuyahoga County Public Library
    Cleveland Public Library (requires a CLVENET card).

     

    Worksheets for the Library Session

    These worksheets will be used during the library session.

     

    Welcome to the Michael Schwartz Library!

    Michael Schwartz Library, Rhodes TowerWelcome to the Michael Schwartz Library at Cleveland State University!

    This guide is designed for first year students enrolled in ASC 101: Introduction to University Life, BUS 101: Introduction to College and HON 101: Introduction to Honors.

    The purpose of this guide is to assist students in navigating the research process for their Common Reading evaluative annotated bibliography.  

    Others are also invited to explore the information on these pages.

    Check out the Common Reading Experience website at the Michael Schwartz Library.

     
    Come to an ASC 101 Research Help Session for walk in assistance with using library search tools to locate sources and MLA or APA ciations. 
    November 14, 2012 12:00 PM to 1:00 PM Library Back LCLC Lab
     

    What is an Annotated Bibliography?

    Relax! An annotated bibliography is NOT a full-blown research paper. 

    To create an annotated bibliography first you list the complete publication information for the source. Then you write an "annotation," or brief note about the source, that summarizes the content, explains its usefulness to your research, evaluates its method, conclusions, or reliability, and/or records your reactions to the source. 

    When you create an annotated bibliography, you will format the paper and the citations in a specified style such as Modern Languages Association (MLA) or American Psychological Association. For ASC 101, you are required to use MLA style.

    Why is this one of the ASC 101 Assignments?

    • A common assignmentStudents working
    • Learn foundational skills for upper level courses
    • Prepare for ENG 101 & 102 assignments
    • Practice general writing skills
    • Acquire information literacy skills
    • Gain experience conducting research
    • Develop an awareness of library resources & services
    • Practice using MLA style
    • Sharpen critical thinking

    More information and examples 

     

    Handouts for the Common Reading Research Assignment

    Below you will find the handouts for the library visit and the Common Reading Research Assignment, an annotated bibliography. Please talk with your instructor if you have any questions.

    You may contact Ann Marie Smeraldi First Year Experience Librarian, if you need help with your research.   

     

    Interview with Michael Pollan

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Ann Marie Smeraldi
    Contact Info
    Michael Schwartz Library
    RT 110E
    216.687.5020
    Office Hours by Appointment
    Send Email
     

    Other Books by Michael Pollan

    Cover Art
    The Botany of Desire - Michael Pollan
    Call Number: QK46.5.H85 P66 2002
    ISBN: 0375760393
    Publication Date: 2002

    Cover Art
    Food Rules - Michael Pollan
    Call Number: RA784 .P6429 2009
    ISBN: 014311638X
    Publication Date: 2009

    Cover Art
    The Omnivore's Dilemma - Michael Pollan
    Call Number: GT2850 .P65 2006
    ISBN: 1594200823
    Publication Date: 2006

    Cover Art
    Second Nature - Michael Pollan
    Call Number: SB455 .P58 1991b
    ISBN: 0385312660
    Publication Date: 1992

    Michael Schwartz Library, Cleveland State University
    (216) 687-2479
    Rhodes Tower 2121 Euclid Avenue
    Cleveland, Ohio 44115-2214

    We bring people and information together.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip