This is the "Home" page of the "ASC 101 Common Reading Research Guide 2014-2015: Walkable City" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ASC 101 Common Reading Research Guide 2014-2015: Walkable City   Tags: asc 101, first year college students, first year students, first year writing  

This guide provides information about the common reading and annotated bibliography assignment for Introduction to University Life (ASC 101 and ASC Scholars). It includes valuable research tips and resources.
Last Updated: Oct 23, 2014 URL: http://researchguides.csuohio.edu/ASC101 Print Guide

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Common Reading Events

 

The Common Reading

Selection for 2014-2015

Cover Art
Walkable City - Jeff Speck
Call Number: HT175 .S64 2013
ISBN: 0865477728
Publication Date: 2013
Speck, coauthor of Suburban Nation (2000), believes America has a problem—actually, lots of problems—that can be solved by improving walkability in our cities. Public health, sustainability, and even the lagging economy, he argues, can be boosted by making cities more friendly for pedestrians. Drawing on his background as a city planner and architectural designer, Speck lays out a 10-step plan for changing the way we build and think about our public spaces.

 

Rate the Book

Did you enjoy reading Walkable Cityi?






 

Borrow a Copy of the Book

Check SCHOLAR online catalog to see if a copy is currently available.

    You may also want to check:

    OhioLINK

    Cuyahoga County Public Library

    Cleveland Public Library (requires a CLVENET card).

     

    Library Session Worksheets

    These worksheets will be used during the library session.

     

    Welcome to the Michael Schwartz Library!

    Michael Schwartz Library, Rhodes TowerWelcome to the Michael Schwartz Library at Cleveland State University!

    This guide is designed for first year students enrolled in ASC 101 & ASC 101 Scholars. 

    The purpose of this guide is to assist students in navigating the research process and locate high quality, credible sources their evaluative annotated bibliography assignment.  Students will also learn valuable information about the Library's services, resources, collections, and research tools.  

    Others are also invited to explore the information on these pages.

     
              
     

    What is an Annotated Bibliography?

    Relax! An annotated bibliography is NOT a full-blown research paper. 

    To create an annotated bibliography first you list the complete publication information for the source. Then you write an "annotation," or brief note about the source, that summarizes the content, explains its usefulness to your research, evaluates its method, conclusions, or reliability, and/or records your reactions to the source. 

    When you create an annotated bibliography, you will format the paper and the citations in a specified style such as Modern Languages Association (MLA) or American Psychological Association (APA). Most sections of ASC 101, will use MLA style.  Ask your instructor which style you should use.

    Why is this one of the ASC 101 Assignments?

    • A common assignmentStudents working
    • Learn foundational skills for upper level courses
    • Prepare for ENG 101 & 102 assignments
    • Practice general writing skills
    • Acquire information literacy skills
    • Gain experience conducting research
    • Develop an awareness of library resources & services
    • Practice using MLA style
    • Sharpen critical thinking

    More information and examples 

     

    Handouts for the Common Reading Research Assignment

    Below you will find the handouts for the library visit and the Common Reading Research Assignment, an annotated bibliography. Please talk with your instructor if you have any questions.

    You may contact Ann MarieSmeraldi, First Year Experience Librarian, if you need help with your research.   

     

    Jeff Speck's TED Talk on Wakable City

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Ann Marie Smeraldi
    Contact Info
    Michael Schwartz Library
    RT 110E
    216.687.5020
    Office Hours by Appointment
    Send Email
     

    Other Books by Jeff Speck

    Cover Art
    Suburban Nation - Andres Duany, Elizabeth Plater-Zyberk & Jeff Speck
    ISBN: 0865477507
    Publication Date: 2010
    The authors, who lead a firm that has designed more than 200 new neighborhoods and community revitalization plans, challenge nearly half a century of widely accepted planning and building practices that have produced sprawling subdivisions, shopping centers and office parks connected by new highways. These practices, they contend, have not only destroyed the traditional concept of the neighborhood, but eroded such vital social values as equality, citizenship and personal safety.

     

    Nursing Students Using APA Citation Style

    If you are a nursing student and your instrcutor has told you to use APA, refer to these annotated biblography examples.

    If you are not sure, ask your instructor which style you should use.

    Michael Schwartz Library, Cleveland State University
    (216) 687-2479
    Rhodes Tower 2121 Euclid Avenue
    Cleveland, Ohio 44115-2214

    We bring people and information together.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip