For personalized research help, schedule time to meet with me.

I'm looking forward to talking with you about your topic!

Approach your research with a spirit of inquiry and search the literature systematically:

• explore multiple databases
• consider different ways to describe the essential elements of your topic using keywords and controlled vocabulary terms (e.g., MeSH terms/headings)
• search concepts separately to reveal limiting variables
• combine concepts strategically to narrow your topic
• use database limiters/filters thoughtfully (do not overuse!)
• apply inclusion/exclusion criteria as you skim result lists instead of including too many concepts in one search
• Schedule a research appointment to explore the literature with a database navigation expert!

Click Choose Databases above the search entry boxes in one of the databases listed below to select multiple databases. Then limit to Peer Reviewed using the checkboxes on the left side of your search result list.

• If full text is not available, follow the link to "Request via Interlibrary Loan." Complete the form and submit. The article will be emailed to you, usually within 24-48 hours. 

_________________________________________________

More Databases:

Using Google Scholar? These step-by-step instructions show you how to locate full text (either free online, or free to you through CSU).

Off campus?

Many electronic resources (research databases, e-books, etc.) are limited to CSU students, faculty, and staff when accessed off campus. You may be prompted to authenticate by entering your CampusNet ID and password. 

Questions? Here are some tips for resolving common connection problems.

Productive and effective searching:

• Start with one or two keywords 
  • Add terms with AND to narrow results (hypertension AND exercise)
  • If needed, combine synonyms with OR to include related terms (cardiac or heart)
• Review results to brainstorm additional or alternate keyword options
• Try multiple searches with different keywords and explore more than one database
• Apply limiters thoughtfully
  • After seeing how productive your keywords are, limit by date range and English language
  • Other limiters to try:
    • Peer Reviewed (articles must be approved by other scholars before publication)
    • Other database-specific limit options (type of study or article, age range, etc.)

Can't access the article or book you need? Use our Inter-library loan (ILL) service!

Writing Center Services

Located in the Library Learning Commons

• Make an appointment
• Help writing papers
• Help with citing